The Unexpected Desert, as we know it

April in the Anza Borrego Desert State Park – California’s largest state park, and one of the many reasons why I love CA. And the desert, for that matter. Nothing like the “traditional” desert that my Minnesota mind grew up imagining. The cacti are very different, I have yet to see Wile E.  Coyote, and roadrunners do in fact exist.  The ABDSP is so much more… and as always, was full of unexpected surprises.

Oh – and I’ll preface this post, with the lovely fact that we did not get eaten by a Mountain Lion. Enjoy a few of my favorites!

Desert Waterfall - Palm Canyon

Flower Power, ABDSP

The grass is always green(er) - Blair Valley, ABDSP

Smuggler's Canyon rock wall

Lake Cuyamaca - on the OTHER side of the mountain, directly west of Blair Valley

Lake Cuyamaca and the backside of ABDSP/Blair Valley

3 thoughts on “The Unexpected Desert, as we know it

  1. Your photos are just amazing Marit!! Thanks so much for sharing. And I’d have to agree, not what I think of when I think “desert!”

Leave a Reply

