What’s Up? (including coumadin levels, benefit concerts, and bursting boobage)

You - and that camera, again. Why are you looking at me like that? I didn't do it - whatever it was. This is the face of innocence.

It’s been one of those weeks, I suppose. Sandwiched between the big Life and (sometimes bigger) Reality quotient – I’m just trying to have fun while keeping myself together. Um….I think we ALL inevitably do that.

In a way, it’s sort of nice that nothing huge has happened.

The racing wheels are long gone and I’m feeling better and better about that. Their departure has put me on a cleaning kick – where I just want to get rid and de-clutter. But starting the process of cleaning vs thinking about how nice it will be to have a house not filled with stuff – are two different things – good intentions never got anything accomplished. Or cleaned the house. And as my old rowing coach once yelled through her megaphone at me, “The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.”

Seriously, I’ll make an effort to start today.

What else? Between a day of jury duty – where I spent hours just waiting to be called – book club (37% of us read the book! – not bad!), visiting with a few friends, violin rehearsals, physical therapy, swimming and weird PT/INR results – I’ve pretty much been just going through the motions every day. Nothing riveting, earth shattering, or ground breaking – I’m doing what I need to do to make time pass (until N returns home).

I DID discover, that when I post a dangerously high coumadin level (meaning my blood was way way way too thin), I should not joke about knife throwing or binge drinking with my nurse, especially when she had just instructed me to head to the nearest ER if I  experience strong head aches, blurred vision, or cut myself in any way. Lesson learned. And while I’m at it, I’ll need to remember that I MUST eat a spinach salad every day – otherwise I don’t have enough Vitamin K in my system to counteract the coumadin. Good stuff.

Sometimes I wish Vitamin K came in the form of Tomato Basil Wheat Thins, instead of spinach. Then I would definitely get my Vitamin K fill ever day. Oh well.

And finally – tomorrow night I’m playing a benefit concert for victims of the Japanese earthquake and tsunami. It’s down  in La Jolla, and I’m privileged to play with the Suzuki Heritage Center. My partner Angelo and I have been instructed to wear some pretty snazzy attire – he’s in a tux, and I’m wearing some blue ball gown. Well – not really a gown, but an awesome (slightly low cut) full length dress that I love. I’m hoping that my boob doesn’t pop out half way through the performance – there’s a lot of fast bowing stuff that I’m doing, and I need to make sure my dress can handle the music. “Wardrobe Malfunction” has already been used once, and I’m not sure I could get away with it in this PG setting. Alas – I’m quite certain Mr. Vivaldi never thought of this problem when he was composing his music.

But it would make for an unforgettable performance. And perhaps earn a few extra donations.

Here’s the flyer – it should be a SUPER concert (with hopefully not too many surprises).

6 thoughts on “What’s Up? (including coumadin levels, benefit concerts, and bursting boobage)

  1. Hi,
    I hope the concert goes well tomorrow and is sold out.
    Looking forward to seeing photos of you in thew ball gown.
    Love,
    Herrad

  2. Crack me up that you quote Miriam:) my sister will love that. I take Vit K sometimes ( it helps wth menstrual cramps) so maybe you can do that as a side to the crackers!
    Good luck with the concert I know you will do awesome!

Leave a Reply

