The Abyss, LJSO, and Packers (not in that order).

20110919-092655.jpg
The 2011-2012 season of the La Jolla Symphony officially kicks off today, and I’m very much looking forward to our first rehearsal this evening. Yay! I’m very fortunate to play with some awesome musicians and really wonderful people – it makes the music bit all the more enjoyable. Speaking of music….

Yes, I received this particular concert series’s music ahead of time, with the full and good intention of practicing said music in advance. But – as we all know – the Road to Hell is paved with Good Intentions, and I must confess, my practicing didn’t really take place the way I had imagined.

Oh well – good thing I’m sitting right under the conductor’s nose. I’m sure that he’ll appreciate my interpretation of Stravinsky, Ravel, and Debussy.

20110919-093441.jpg

In other news – Zombies ate the Yank’s brains, but only after he passed level 24 on the iPad everlasting Plants vs Zombies game. This was after the Packers won (Go Pack GO!), so we were all happy. I wish I could say that N’s mood wasn’t directly related to the performance of his favorite team.

But it is.

Suffice to say, he was oh-so-fun to be around during the first quarter. We were at one of our local pubs, surrounded by Panther fans. And the service was disappointing. I swear, he shouldn’t be allowed out before the Packers score at least once – and next time I’ll call ahead for a Bloody Mary.

But by the time we met up with friends to finish the game, the Packers were playing better and score was beginning to reflect that, and the Yank’s mood had exponentially improved.

Funny how that works – but we all do that in some way or another, I guess.

And finally….. Wisdom from Shitty Kitty:

20110919-094512.jpg

“Battle not with Monsters lest ye become a Monster; and if you gaze into the abyss the abyss gazes into you.”
-Friedrich Nietzsche

I like this quote – it warns us against becoming the very thing that we fight.

There will always be the Drain Sharks of the world – real and imagined. The key is not loosing sight of yourself in the process; that’s something I remind myself of every day. (Not always easy). So we fight the Good Fight and do the very best we can with what we have. Some days I feel like the abyss is winning, that the Monsters – and Drain Sharks – of the world are getting the better of life.

Whereas, with other days – I look at life and think, “You know….? It’s really not all that bad….” The Drain Sharks haven’t won, and I haven’t lost sight of who I am, or what I’m fighting for. And in the end – that’s all I can hope for.

Oh – and to not make any major mistakes at tonight’s rehearsal. That would be great as well.

3 thoughts on “The Abyss, LJSO, and Packers (not in that order).

  1. I want Nate to come be a guest at my balance class. Anytime the Pack plays one of my residents dresses in full green and yellow. ITs pretty darn cute and funny. They would get along great:)

Leave a Reply

