Wartime Prayer

I saw this on the book of face yesterday, posted on my great friend Megan’s wall. Very simple, poignant yet made me pause for thought.

Dear Lord,

Lest I continue
My complacent way,
Help me to remember that somewhere,
Somehow out there
A man died for me today.
As long as there be war,
I then must
Ask and answer
Am I worth dying for?
-Eleanor Roosevelt “Wartime Prayer”

 

The hardest part about today was listening to N’s voice crack as he described his flight school study partner and friend, NM. I don’t get why things happen the way they do – but so much loss, tragedy and grief is beyond understanding. War is horrible – And grief is overwhelming.

That’s all I have to say today.

 

3 thoughts on “Wartime Prayer

  1. Marit: this poem just pierced my chest. This will stay with me. What a mantra to live by and what an homage to our service women and men, and their families. Another example of how much Eleanor Roosevelt rocks (and still does in our collective memory). This is especially poignant to me, as Mike leaves in a month for an 8 month D.

    Thank you for this post.

    • Thanks Erin! It definitely left me speechless…and you’re right about ER – she is amazing! So sorry about the looming D…. it seems that everyone I know has another one of those on the horizon. Stay tough – any chance you guys are visiting SD? xoxo

Leave a Reply

