A world of possibility – all at my fingers

As much as I love photography, the photographic process – seeing something in my head and then trying to capture that idea, taking pictures, editing, interacting with people – I’ve realized that Photoshop does NOT come naturally to me. I need to work at it… a lot. And that’s totally okay – clearly I’m not built for graphic design or website creating. That being said – there’s still A TON that I can learn, some of which will (hopefully) help my own editing skills.

For now, it’s taking baby steps and starting at the beginning. As in – my first triathlon will NOT be Ironman thank-you-very-much, but instead I’ll ease into the process, figure my $hit out, and then build from there. Keeping that in mind…. my lovely homework this past week was the following:

Transfer everything outside the bowl….

The beginning

To the inside:

The end

And no, for the life of me I have NO idea what the little shell creatures are. Ironically, the giant shell in the middle was the biggest pain-in-my-ass to layer and transfer. There was some buffering, a lot of squinting at my screen, and quite a bit of cursing. I think I need a bigger screen, as my motor skills aren’t quite there yet. As for the salmon-y pink background color…? Your guess is as good as mine. It’s the one thing I couldn’t fix with a tool.

But it’s a start!

Last night’s rehearsal was MUCH better, and I feel a lot less nervous about our concert. My stand partner’s phone ringing about :45 seconds before break was classic. I tried to ignore it, but as our conductor stopped rehearsal to address the loud clanging tone, I was forced to look at Gary and give a slight shake of my head. Didn’t want anyone thinking I was the culprit. Like in grade school when someone audibly lets one rip – everyone scoots away and stares.

Naturally, I’m speaking from experience.

And finally, my friend ADC posted an image to Facebook today – and it struck me…I’ve been thinking about it all day. It’s very easy to be upset with humanity (broad term, I get it), and believe that people are only out for themselves. This past year has been challenging for me in a lot of ways – I’ve faced some difficult circumstances and trying times. My view of the world, has permanently changed – and while I still retain hope that people will do the right thing, for the right reason (even when nobody is watching) – more often than not, I’m disappointed.

But there’s still hope – even from a different era. Thank you Mr. Landmesser.

The photo was taken in Hamburg in 1936, during the celebrations for the launch of a ship, the 'Horst Wessel'. In the crowd, one person refuses to raise his arm to give the Nazi salute. That man was August Landmesser. He had already been in trouble with the authorities, having been sentenced to two years hard labor for marrying a Jewish woman. We know little else about August Landmesser (born May 24, 1910, presumably killed February 1944), except that he had two children. By pure chance, one of his children recognized her father in this photo when it was published in a German newspaper in 1991.

2 thoughts on “A world of possibility – all at my fingers

  1. While our lives are different & our problems are our own, I can 100% relate to this post. The past 15mo. have been extremely difficult for me, yet I know my bumps in the road aren’t as big as yours & yours aren’t as big ad someone else’s. Somehow along the way I’ve lost the little trust I had in people this year. And not the trust of close friends of mine, I’m lucky in that respect, but trust in pretty much anyone else who passes through my little world. Thanks for sharing the photo of August!! Hang in there with Photoshop!!

  2. That photoshop stuff is awesome and I am completely clueless about it.
    I know there has been some tough times recently but I still want ot believe that people will do the right thing. I’ve been watching some tv programmes recently which show that in many ways.

Leave a Reply

