I’ve been meaning to write – but between the birthday (I made it to 33 – hooray!), the weekend hike, and then getting sick – I feel like I’m about 1/2 step behind myself. So…. to recap ~

The Birthday:

What can I say? After my DVT/PE, I celebrate these suckers. All I wanted to do was to have a fireplace date with N, while enjoying a nice bottle of pinot and cupcakes. So we did. It was marvelous.

Islip_Jump

Hooray for 33! Outtakes of my jump shots – yea!

We should have stopped at the pinot, but we figured to hell with it – it was Valentine’s Day and we were both present (as opposed to one of us being deployed), so we ought to open the Champagne as well. Clearly, with age does not come wisdom, as the next morning was a bit rough. But we sure had fun, and it was a great way to celebrate the start of my 33rd year. Yay!

The Hike:

View from Vetter Peak, Angeles Crest

View from Vetter Peak, Angeles Crest

Every birthday I like to give myself the gift of a challenge and do something amazing – to celebrate life and living. It doesn’t matter how hard or easy….the point is to just get out there. I know that it sounds crazy, but maybe this is my way of showing that, in spite of getting older, I can still do the things that matter to me, that are important. In the past I’ve done bucket list hikes or competed in various running events. This year, all I wanted was to hike some of my favorite peaks along the Angeles Crest with N. Add in the challenge of his Summits on The Air peak bagging + radio work, and I knew it would be a fun day.

Feb_16_hike_9

Sunday morning came early, and in spite of feeling a knot in my lower throat/upper chest, we proceeded to head out and hike. Our first peak was Vetter Lookout, a 4.5 mile round-trip hike in the center of the Angeles National Forrest. The peak and lookout were destroyed in the 2009 Station Fire, but the view is still spectacular, and the Lookout Association has a temporary structure that volunteers are looking to make permanent. After getting his Summits on The Air (SOTA) points, we turned around and headed back to the jeep.

Feb_16_hike_25

After that, we hit up Waterman, Islip, and finished the day with Table Mountain. There was a lot of hiking, some awesome trails with beautiful scenery, and in the end, I was really happy to be spending the day with My Person, doing things that we loved together.

Goofing off, Islip Peak

Goofing off, Islip Peak

The Bronchitis:

What I didn’t know, is that I was setting myself up for a perfect shit storm of illness.

It’s been a while since I’ve had any sort of lung/bronchitis type of infection, and though my lupus occasionally affects my pulmonary system, for the most part I’ve been able to squeak by unscathed. Until now.

I don’t know if what I’ve got is lupus-related. If it drags on, then perhaps. But for now, I’m crossing my fingers and hoping for a wee virus. Alright – annoyingly large virus. But that’s what I’m hoping for. When my doctor asked what the trouble was, I should have known that the feeling like a hand-was-pressing-on-the-top-of-my-lungs was bad. But as it’s been years since I’ve been afflicted with bronchitis – well, now I know. I probably was exposed last week at work, and then just pushed too hard with my running and my hike. Oh well. Nothing I can do about that now. Work IS being awesome though, and taking 3 days off has been really good. A bit boring – but really good for me.

So, in the meantime, I’ll rest like a champ. Drink my tea and hot beverages. Read a lot. Watch Shit TV. And with the House Monsters by my side – heal fast.

House_Monster

Anabelle_bed_vignetteLife is just better with House Monsters by my side.

 

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

